Propylene glycol ester of alginic acid, a natural polysaccharide, produced by different seaweeds of the family Phaeophyceae (Macrocystis pyrifera, Laminaria digitata, L. cloustoni, Ascophyllum nodosum) in the USA and the UK.
Function & characteristics:
Ice cream, confectionery, dressings, etc.
Acceptable Daily Intake:
Up to 70 mg/kg body weight.
None known in the concentrations used, although some people exhibit adverse reactions towards high concentrations of propylene glycol.
Alginic acid and alginates can be used by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.
The information on this website is not intended to replace a one-on-one relationship with a qualified health care professional and is not intended as medical advice. It is intended as a sharing of knowledge and information. Foodnet India encourages you to make your own health care decisions based upon your research and in partnership with a qualified health care professional.