Share and Enjoy !


Origin:Lecithin, partially hydrolysed, E322 (ii), is a subclass of Lecithins (E322 ).
Function & characteristics: Consistency may vary from plastic to fluid, depending upon free fatty acid and oil content, and upon the presence or absence of other diluents.
Products:Derived from animal products (not suitable for vegan) – yes.E322 – Lecithins: Some Lecithin contains egg yolks so not suitable for Vegans. Other main sources of Lecithin are from soya bean oil and is likely to be genetically modified (if sourced from countries such as the US) Lecithin can also be directly obtained from animal fat. Contains soybeans – maybe,E322 – Lecithins: Emulsifiers and Stabilizers It now days made from soy fat or Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only soy fat is used as a source. Contains peanuts – yes.E322 – Lecithins: From Yeast Intolerance food additive article “Food Additives and Preservatives Made From Peanuts”.Yeast Intolerance- Allergy & Adverse Reactions in Peanuts.Genetically engineered – yes,E322 – Lecithins: Lecithin is primarily obtained from plants that contain oils and, as a rule, from soybeans. Less valuable yields may be obtained from rapeseed, maize, sunflowers and peanuts. During processing in the oil mill, the soybeans are separated into the protein-rich fodder and the fat component. The raw lecithin that is extracted from the soybean mass is purified in several Stepps. Lecithin, in the form in which it is used in the manufacture of food products, is free of soya DNA. As a rule, therefore, it cannot be determined whether GM soybeans were used in the manufacture of a lecithin preparation. Soybeans:as a rule, soya raw materials that are traded internationally stem either wholly or partially from genetically modified plants. GM soybeans are grown on a large scale in Argentina and the USA, for example. The EU imports a large part of its soya raw materials from these countries. Some food producers process exclusively conventional soya raw materials. An absolute separation at all levels of processing between conventional and GM soybeans however is not technically possible. Therefore, even raw materials declared to be “free of gene technology” may contain small quantities of GMO.GMO Compass.Derived from plant products – yes.E322 – Lecithins: Emulsifier derived from soy beans, egg yolks, peanuts, corn or animal resources; non toxic but overdose can upset the stomach, kill the appetite and cause profuse sweating; used to allow combination of oils in margarine, chocolate, mayonnaise, milk powder; must be choosen vegetable type, Contains egg or substances derived from eggs – yes. E322 – Lecithins: Lecithins are also known as phosphatidylcholines, and are examples of phopholipids, or esters of glycerol, where two ester bonds are to fatty acids and the third is to a phosphoric acid derivative. Most commercial lecithin is extracted from soya beans, egg yolks and leguminous seeds, corn or animal resources; non toxic; used to allow combination of oils in margarine, chocolate, mayonnaise, milk powder, potato chips, puddings, breakfast cereals.. Lecithins play important roles in the transmission of nerve impulses as well as fulfilling other biological functions. They are present in all living cells and are significant constituents of nerve and brain tissues. Lecithins are capable of forming micelles in aqueous solution hence are employed in foods as emulsifiers. Egg allergy.
Daily intake:Up to 1 mg/kg body weight
Side effects:Yes
Dietary restrictions: Yes


One thought on “Lecithin, partially hydrolysed: IN 322(ii)”

  1. thank you for the information it was really helpful i am vegetarian and just found it contains egg. Thank you

Leave a Reply