Share and Enjoy !


Produced from maltol , a natural compound commercially extracted from the bark of lark trees or roasted malt. Also by heating of lactose and maltose.
Function & Characteristics:
Flavour enhancer. It has a sweet flavour. It reduces the sugar needed in products. It also enhances the flavour of fruits, such as strawberry, pineapple, grape and raspberry.
Used in many products, mainly confectionary and bakery products.
Acceptable daily intake (ADI):
Up to 2 mg/kg bodyweight
Side effects:
None known
Dietary restrictions:
Maltol is generally produced from bark or malt. Sometimes lactose (from cow’s milk) is used. It should thus be avoided by vegans. It does not contain lactose and can be used by lactose-intolerant people.
Disclaimer – The information on this website is not intended to replace a one-on-one relationship with a qualified health care professional and is not intended as medical advice. It is intended as a sharing of knowledge and information. Foodnet India encourages you to make your own health care decisions based upon your research and in partnership with a qualified health care professional.
Replies, if any, from the brand, will be published here ‘As is’