Tannic acid (Tannins):IN 181

Origin:
Natural mixture with complex composition. Commercially prepared from acorns or prepared synthetically.

Function & characteristics:
Yellow-white colour, but mainly used as flavour in f.e. butter or nut flavours.

Products:
Beverages and confectionary

Acceptable Daily Intake:
None determined

Side effects :
No side effects known when used as additive (very limited use). High concentrations may cause stomach problems or cause constriction of arteries.

Dietary restrictions :

None, 181 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.


The information on this website is not intended to replace a one-on-one relationship with a qualified health care professional and is not intended as medical advice. It is intended as a sharing of knowledge and information. Foodnet India encourages you to make your own health care decisions based upon your research and in partnership with a qualified health care professional.