There is a difference in information that is required on Indian food labels, namely the name of the food, its ingredients, additives present in the food, nutritional information, whether the food is vegetarian friendly, the name and address of the producer, quantities, batch number, the date of production, a date that the product should be used by, instructions for use, and the origins of the product (if the product is imported from a foreign locale). It is also required that information is presented clearly in either English or Hindi.
The United States oversees the food markets and industries through a federal organization called The Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The FDA directs specifications for where labels can and should be placed, what content labels can and/or must display, and specified nutritional information.
Under United States law, it is not compulsory to list if every product is vegetarian friendly. Because of the cultural and spiritual diversity of India, it requires packagers to designate whether a product is vegetarian-friendly so that consumers do not accidentally violate their spiritual or cultural beliefs.The United States does not officially have any designated spiritual affiliations that are dominant and considered widespread.
Finally, the Food Safety and Standards Regulations does not permit labels that can become detached from their products, incorrect information, and illegible printing. Read the whole article: